Who got a place in the best XI of the World Cup

Who got a place in the best XI of the World Cup
Who got a place in the best XI of the World Cup

Australia clinched their sixth ODI World Cup title by defeating India by six wickets in a thrilling final. Despite India’s remarkable streak of winning 10 consecutive matches at home, the narrative of heartbreak in the final for Rohit Sharma echoed loudly. Remarkably, despite their loss in the final, the ICC’s Best XI for the tournament is predominantly comprised of Indian cricketers.

Notably, six players from the runner-up team secured spots in the Best XI. In addition to this, two players from the champion Australian side, along with one each from South Africa, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka, made their mark in the semi-finals. South African pacer Gerard Coetzee was named the 12th player.

India’s standout performers in the Best XI include captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Lokesh Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Sami. Kohli, with an impressive 765 runs, emerged as the tournament’s leading run-scorer, setting a record for the highest runs in a single event. Meanwhile, Mohammad Sami claimed the title of the highest wicket-taker with 24 wickets.

Champion Australia contributed Glenn Maxwell and Adam Zampa to the Best XI. Maxwell’s outstanding performances included two centuries, including a record-breaking 40-ball century against the Netherlands and an unbeaten innings of 201 runs against Afghanistan. Adam Zampa, the leading wicket-taker for Australia and second-highest overall in the World Cup, secured his spot with 23 wickets, showcasing his spin prowess.

South African opener Quinton de Kock, who scored four centuries in the tournament, emerged as the third-highest run-scorer with 594 runs. New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell, the only representative from his team in the Best XI, showcased his prowess with two centuries in nine innings, accumulating 552 runs. Despite an impressive innings of 134 runs against India in the semi-final, Mitchell’s efforts couldn’t secure a victory for his team.

Sri Lankan pacer Dilshan Madushanka earned a place in the Best XI as the lone representative from a team that did not reach the semi-finals. Madushanka impressed with 21 wickets in nine matches.

The final Best XI comprised Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Lokesh Rahul, Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Adam Zampa, Dilshan Madushanka, and Mohammad Sami.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here